From The Museums of Old York;
Museum Opens June 4 for 112th Season
New Exhibit Highlighted
We are pleased to announce the opening of our season with a new exhibit at the Visitor Center Gallery in Remick Barn, 3 Lindsay Road. The display features over 200 objects including rare surviving weapons, furnishings, and trade items. Common household objects include the 18th century mousetrap pictured above, borrowed from collector Hollis Brodrick. Thanks to loans from local historical institutions and private collectors, visitors will have a chance to view many artifacts from private collections that you will not be able to anywhere else. Visitors can also tour nine historic buildings, including favorites: the Old Gaol, Elizabeth Perkins House, Emerson-Wilcox House, Jefferd’s Tavern and John Hancock Wharf. The museum will be open Monday-Saturday, 9:30 a.m. -4:00 p.m. For more information, please call the Visitor Center 207-363-1756 or visit our website.
Museums of Old York Programs
21 Muskets, Swords, & Powder Horns
Observe Armed Forces Day at Old York. Back in 2011 after being received with great interest in 2010, this program will give enthusiasts of all ages the opportunity to view uniforms and weaponry from Old York’s collections. Certain items will be available to handle (with white curatorial gloves). Weapons from the 18th – 20th centuries will be featured. 2:00 p.m. at Remick Barn.
2 History Challenge Game Show
Test your knowledge of our past. Put together a team of two to four people and register to participate in this fun, and challenging “Jeopardy”-style history game show. Answer questions correctly to gain points. The team with the most points at the end of the game wins cash! $5 per person to play, $1 suggested donation to be in the audience. Email email@example.com to register your team. 7:00 p.m. at Remick Barn.
4 Museum Opening Day and New Exhibit at Remick Barn
See information above.
12 Lost York: The History that Nature Has Reclaimed
Join Old York staff and local historian Ron Nowell as we head into the woods to find long-abandoned homesteads, cellar holes, stone walls and graveyards in an area of York settled around 1800 but abandoned by 1910. Listen to the stories of the individuals who lived round Mt. A making a living off basket-making and other traditional crafts. Discover Franklin’s Tomb and hear how he dug it for himself only to be buried in the pauper cemetery upon his death. Call 207-363-4974 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to let us know you’ll be coming and find out where to meet. 2:00 p.m. Free.
23 History Brought to Life
Watch the history of the Old Gaol come to life as amateur actors portray the prisoners kept under lock and key. Listen to stories of thievery, debt, embezzlement, murder and escape! Meet the Gaol keeper responsible for keeping these scofflaws locked away and his wife who cooked for and fed them. Meet at the Old Gaol. Program ongoing from 5:30 -7:30 p.m. Members free and nominal fee for non-members. Family rates.
For a complete and up-to-date calendar of Museums of Old York programs see our website.
From the Penobscot marine Museum;
Diamond Anniversary Year to Open with New Exhibits, Free Reception
Maine’s oldest marine museum will open the doors on its 75th year on May 27 (the Friday of Memorial Day weekend) at 10 a.m. Be among the first to view our wonderful new exhibits, “75 for 75” and “The Art of the Boat.” (See following articles for details.)
At 5:30 p.m. on Opening Day, we will hold a free reception in the Main Street Gallery, where “The Art of the Boat” will be on display. Come enjoy refreshments, meet our new executive director, Liz Lodge, and mingle with some of the exhibiting artists.
This year’s signature exhibit, “75 for 75” will showcase 75 artifacts from our first 75 years. Ranging from marine paintings and ship models to full-size boats and 19th-century domestic artifacts, “75 for 75” is spread across several of the museum’s 13 buildings. “It’s kind of a capsule history of the museum which is, itself, an ongoing record of Maine’s and Searsport’s maritime histories,” says Curator Ben Fuller. The show runs for the entire exhibit year: May 27 through October 23.
We are still seeking individual and business sponsors for this high-visibility exhibit, with opportunities starting at just $175. Contact Liz Lodge: 207-548-2529.
Boat enthusiasts – and that includes more than a few of our readers – will be fascinated, intrigued and challenged by “The Art of the Boat”:
a juried exhibit of works by more than 50 contemporary artists exploring the themes of the boat as a work of art and the boatbuilder as artist.
“We asked artists to balance the art that is in the boat with their own artistic vision,” said Curator Ben Fuller. The jury, consisting of an art writer and critic, a yacht designer, an artist, and an art collector, selected works for the exhibit from more than 300 submitted in all media.
On display will be paintings, drawings, photographs and sculptures — some literal and representational, others symbolic and abstract — all expressing a unique appreciation of the artistry inherent in the boat’s functional form. The exhibit is presented to honor the memory of George S. Wasson, a Maine artist, author, and boatbuilder who was one of the museum’s spiritual founders 75 years ago. It will run from May 27 through October 23.
Opening Day and Reception
Penobscot Marine Museum opens for its 75th year with exhibits for all ages. See articles above. 5/27, 10 am – 5 pm (exhibits); 5:30 – 7 pm (reception)
Antique Auto Display
Members of the Antique Auto Club of America will visit the museum with dozens of cars dating to 1915 and earlier. 6/30, 3-4 pm
Midcoast Maine Lighthouse Challenge
PMM is a “bonus” site on this self-guided driving tour that includes several lighthouses and lighthouse-related museums. More information. 6/25-26, all day
Searsport Lobsterboat Races and Antique Power Day
A town-wide day of activities: Lobsterboat races, antique engine and lobsterboat exhibit, radio-control model racing, crafts for children, rowing race, craft sale and more. 7/9, all day