Museum seeks identity of mysterious portrait
SOUTH BERWICK, Maine – A portrait of a beautiful young Victorian woman said to have been a South Berwick resident has Old Berwick Historical Society members in pursuit of her identity this summer.
Offered to the society’s Counting House Museum a few weeks ago, the large photograph fits right into the current exhibit, “South Berwick’s Attic,” a display of local curios from past generations.
The portrait pleases museum volunteers and visitors alike. Wearing a stylish dress and a hairdo piled high, the subject of the portrait engages the photographer – and modern viewers – with an arresting expression in her flashing dark eyes.
In fact there is only just one thing wrong. Nobody knows who the woman was or where she lived.
Park preserves Poland Spring resort history
The original spring and a museum housed in a 1893 World’s Fair building are highlights of the park. Ifyou didn’t know it was there, you’d just keep on driving on Route 26. That’s the case with many of the so-named “gems of 26,” because while on a main thoroughfare, they are hidden just enough to be off the beaten path.Two of those jewels are Poland Spring Preservation Society and Poland Spring Preservation Park, located behind another gem, the Poland Spring Resort, just over the hill from Poland Spring Water Bottling Plant.
Cross-Stitch Artwork Donated to Lighthouse
A specially commissioned cross-stitch artwork of the lighthouses where the Morong family of Maine lighthouse keepers were stationed, has been donated to the Friends of Little River Lighthouse in Cutler, Maine, by Pennsylvania resident Shelley Wykoff, who is a descendant of Frederic Morong, the first lighthouse keeper to serve at the Lubec Channel Lighthouse in Lubec.